I Got The $500 Bonus on Medium. Here’s What I Did To Get There.

9 effective ways of writing engaging articles.

Katy Velvet
3 min readJun 8, 2021

--

To my surprise, I woke up to a $500 bonus a week ago. I was astonished. I had not been on Medium for 4 months and just started to get motivated about writing again due to an article of mine that recently went viral.

I know how painful it can be when a story goes unnoticed. When I first started writing on the platform, some of the articles I had written barely got any reads.

But then I started taking notes on what brought more attention and what didn’t.

I started tweaking my writing and re-invented the way I told stories.

And I realized that my readers not only wanted to be educated, they also wanted to be entertained.

Thus, I kept writing until I improved my craft and became a better writer. The money was a reflection of how better I got.

So, I wanted to share the strategies I learned over the last 2 years that took me from $0 to $953.35.

These are the things that helped me create content that brought in an extra $500 for the month.

--

--

Katy Velvet

Freelance writer with a lifetime of stories about mental health, gender inequality and an incurable obsession with cats.